Friday, July 17, 2015

Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children

Who can resist such a creepy book cover?
Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children series
Ransom Riggs

The series, Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children, is written by Ransom Riggs. Yes, that's the author's name. Sounds peculiar? Just like his books.

The story begins in the first book, of course, where sixteen–year–old Jacob journeys to an island and discovers Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. Peculiar children such as an invisible boy, a girl who floats if not for her lead shoes, a boy who has bees in his stomach.

The second book, Hollow City, begins right where the first book ended: when Jacob and the peculiar children escape the island and enter London. (Read the first book to find out why they had to escape the island!)

These books may have been written for young adults, but one is never too old to appreciate a wonderful story of fantasy full of peculiar characters, unexpected events, and haunting photographs. (Plus a writing style that I wish I could copy.)

After reading Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children and Hollow City, I have two things to look forward to: The release of the third book, Library of Souls, this September (I cannot wait to know what happens next). And the Tim Burton movie, based on the first book, this March September 2016 (Tim Burton and strange things are a perfect match).

For more book recommendations, please visit Go Read.

No comments:

Post a Comment