Tuesday, June 19, 2018

UNESCO World Heritage: Gyeongju Historic Areas

The Gyeongju Historic Areas, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, is a group of five areas in Gyeongju:

Mount Namsan Belt
As the name suggests, this area is on and immediately around a mountain called Namsan. It includes ruins of 122 temples, 53 stone statues, 64 pagodas and 16 stone lanterns. The Namsan Mountain Fortress, Poseokjeong Pavilion site, and Seochulji Pond are also within this area.

Wolseong Belt
The palace site of Wolseong is an expansive area which includes the Gyerim Forest, Donggung Palace and Wolji Pond (also called Anapji Pond), and the Cheomseongdae Observatory.

 Gyerim Forest

Imhaejeon Palace site and Anapji Pond

Cheomseongdae Observatory

Tumuli Park Belt
The Tumuli Park Belt includes three groups of Royal Tombs. Most of the tombs are mounds, like small hills, but some are half-moon or gourd-shaped. The tombs contain (aside from coffins) gold, glass, and ceramics.

Royal tombs

More royal tombs

Hwangnyongsa Belt
This includes two Buddhist temples: Bunhwangsa Temple (whatever is left of it) and Hwangnyongsa Temple site. Hwangnyongsa was the largest temple ever built in Korea.

Sanseong Fortress Belt
This area includes the Myeonghwal Sanseong Fortress.

South Korea Spring 2018
Jeju Accommodation: Sum Guesthouse Jeju Airport
Traveling Around Jeju by Bus
Checking out Cafes in Jeju
Jeju: Location, Location, Location (for a Photoshoot)
Jeju Eats
History and Nature in East Jeju
UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Jeju
Hiking Hallasan via Yeongsil and Eorimok Trails
Daegu International Airport to Gyeongju
Gyeongju Accommodation: Chacharang Guesthouse
UNESCO World Heritage: Gyeongju Historic Areas (you're here!)
Walking Around Gyeongju
UNESCO World Heritage: Gyeongju Yangdong Historic Village
Joining the Cherry Blossom Loving Crowds in Jinhae
Cherry Blossom Binge Continues in Busan
Busan Museum of Art
Spring 2018 Jeju and Southeast South Korea Itinerary and Expenses

No comments:

Post a Comment